Coffee N° 5

Food, comfort, warmth and friendship

Coffee!

Coffee Beans!

Mmmmm…. coffee. I’ve come to the conclusion that I am turning into a coffee adventurer. I recently purchased a Mr. Coffee (R) French Press. I must say that the coffee brewed in the French Press are much different that coffee brewed in my regular coffee maker. What make this so great you ask? Well, for starters, I am actually able to taste the real flavor of coffee. For the longest time, Coffee tasted like cream and sugar to me. It didn’t matter what type of roast was used. I used French Roast (which is flippin’ dark), Colombian, Medium Roast, etc., and tasted no difference. For me, coffee made in your modern drip maker was far to bitter. I have since discovered that a large part of that is due to the fact that the water is so hot that it causes the grounds to actually give off a bitter taste. The coffee you smell and the coffee you taste are usually two very different things. With the French Press, it works best if you grind whole beans right before steeping. That’s right. You steep the coffee. Another key element for the french press is the right temperature for the water. If you have an electric kettle, this should be no problem. If you’re like me, you got a regular red tea kettle to boil water. So, in that instance, you will need to listen to the water. After a while, you’ll be able to tell when it’s almost to the point of boiling. That’s the point at which I add the water for steeping. The flavor that you get fro this proccess is far superior to that of your standard drip press. Since i’ve started making my coffee this way, I find that I use less sugar and creamer. But that’s me. You shold go out and try it yourself! Or if you’re in the neighborhood, stop by and I’ll make you a cup.

 – Brent

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Coffee!

  1. Gail Delfosse on said:

    We learned to use 100% Arabica coffee or beans, not just coffee.

Leave a Reply

